Sign up for Alice Newsletter

Boaventura de Sousa Santos distinguished by CLACSO: Latin American and Caribbean Social Sciences Award

The Latin American Council of Social Sciences (CLACSO) has just awarded the “Latin American and Caribbean Social Sciences Award” to Boaventura de Sousa Santos.

The CLACSO awards are attributed to political and intellectual personalities from around the world distinguished for renowned contributions to critical thinking, commitment to democratic struggles, human rights, social justice, integration and solidarity among peoples.

Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, Jose Pepe Mujica, Evo Morales, Dilma Rousseff, Pablo Gonzalez Casanova, Aldo Ferrer, Roberto Fernández Retamar, Theotonio dos Santos, Anibal Quijano, Suzy Castor and Perry Anderson were some of the names awarded with the highest distinction granted by this institution.

The award ceremony will take place during the 8th Latin American and Caribbean Conference on Social Sciences | «Las luchas por la igualdad, la justicia social y la democracia en un mundo turbulento» a outstanding initiative of CLACSO that will take place in Buenos Aires, Argentina, from November 19 to 23, and will feature prominent politicians and academics from all over the world.